The July 13 SRX Series event at Stafford Motor Speedway is turning into a who’s who of active full-time NASCAR Cup Series drivers.

On Wednesday the SRX Series announced that three-time Daytona 500 champion Denny Hamlin will compete in the SRX Series season opener at Stafford Speedway.

“I am absolutely fired up to join the SRX season opener at Stafford Motor Speedway,” Hamlin said. “That track has so much history, to finally get to race there will be a bucket list item for me. It’s been fun watching SRX grow over the past two years, and it’s an honor they asked me to join them.”

Said SRX Series CEO Don Hawk: “When I reached out to Denny, and he responded in such a positive manner, it helped me validate why ESPN and the return of Thursday Night Thunder was such a great move for SRX. The model allows us to secure his caliber of talent – and he can flat out drive. We’re thrilled to have him and love his enthusiasm to be a part of the field.”

The Stafford event will be the only SRX Series event Hamlin will do in 2023. The series will run a six event schedule, running weekly each Thursday beginning on July 13.

Hamlin is the third full-time NASCAR Cup Series driver announced as part of the roster for the Stafford event. It was announced on Jan. 17 that Kevin Harvick would be in the Stafford event. On Tuesday the the SRX announced Brad Keselowski would run all six series events in 2023.

It was also announced Tuesday that Bobby Labonte, Ryan Newman and Hailie Deegan would run all six series events in 2023. Clint Bowyer has also been announced as a participant for the Stafford event.

The SRX Series held its inaugural event in June 2021 at Stafford Speedway, which was won by six-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Doug Coby. The series returned Stafford last year in an event won by Newman.

Following the Stafford event, the SRX Series will then race at Thunder Road Speedbowl in Barre, VT on July 20.

The series will also visit Motor Mile Speedway in Fairlawn, Va. on July 27, Berlin (Michigan) Raceway on Aug. 3, Eldora Speedway in New Weston, Ohio on Aug. 10 and Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri on Aug. 17. All events will be broadcast live on ESPN as a newly rebranded Thursday Night Thunder package.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here