Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) has announced that Ron Capps will join the SRX field at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway on Aug. 10, 2023. Capps, a three-time and reigning Funny Car champ, will be the first full-time drag racer to compete in the SRX series.

“SRX pretty much took the Motorsports world by storm three years ago,” said Capps. “We all grew up watching the IROC series, and Thursday Night Thunder was something I never missed as a fan. To have these two things together is a dream for both the fans and race-car drivers. It is such an honor to be selected to join the SRX series this year. I’ve been a huge fan of the concept to the point where we would make sure we got to a TV when we were at our NHRA races to catch the SRX races.”

“It’s incredible to know that I’ll be joining some of the best race-car drivers in the world on such a historic and fast racetrack in Eldora Speedway. The coolest part is for our NHRA fans to know that they can tune in and watch one of their own battle with the best on the high banks of Eldora Speedway. I’ll be a little out of my comfort zone, but I’m going to try and make our fans proud,” said Capps.

SRX will air on six consecutive Thursday nights at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN and the ESPN App, bringing back the iconic “ESPN Thursday Night Thunder” branding.

“Ron is the first NHRA driver in the history of SRX to join the ranks of the very best circle-track drivers in the world,” said Don Hawk, Chief Executive Officer of SRX. “I’ve seen Ron drive a straight line in NHRA so many times I’ve lost count. He’s also a three-time world champion who’s not a total stranger to dirt racing. Ron is a great guy, he’s good for racing, good to and for his sponsors, and will be very good for SRX.”

Over the first two seasons of SRX, the six-race series has featured drivers from a variety of racing backgrounds with an emphasis on champion-level drivers. SRX has seen some of the sport’s biggest names compete, including Tony Stewart, Bill Elliott, Chase Elliott, Tony Kanaan, Paul Tracy, Bobby Labonte, Willy T. Ribbs, Hailie Deegan, Ryan Blaney, Ryan Newman, Greg Biffle, Marco Andretti, Matt Kenseth, Michael Waltrip, Josef Newgarden, Ryan Hunter-Reay, and Helio Castroneves.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here