Thursday, June 20, 2024
Home NASCAR Joe Gibbs Racing Announces New Crew Chief for 2021

Joe Gibbs Racing Announces New Crew Chief for 2021

DAYTONA BEACH, FLORIDA - FEBRUARY 08: Denny Hamlin, driver of the #11 FedEx Express Toyota, leads Martin Truex Jr., driver of the #19 SiriusXM Toyota, Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 M&M's Toyota, and Erik Jones, driver of the #20 Sport Clips Toyota, during practice for the NASCAR Cup Series Busch Clash at Daytona International Speedway on February 08, 2020 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Busch’s new crew chief is Ben Beshore, who previously worked on the No. 18 team as an engineer before joining JGR’s Xfinity Series program in 2019 as a crew chief. Stevens becomes JGR’s No. 20 crew chief with Bell, who arrives from now-defuct Leavine Family Racing to replace Erik Jones.

Beshore guided Harrison Burton to four Xfinity wins this past season. Additionally, he and Busch worked together in 2019 for seven Xfinity races, winning four of them.

Chris Gabehart and James Small remain as crew chiefs for Denny Hamlin (No. 11) and Martin Truex Jr. (No. 19), respectively.

Joe Gibbs Racing also will have new crew chiefs in its Xfinity program.

Jason Ratcliff, who worked with Bell in the Cup Series this past season at Leavine Family Racing, replaces Beshore as crew chief for Burton and the No. 20 team.

Dave Rogers stays with the No. 18 team, now with the newly hired Daniel Hemric behind the wheel.

Jeff Meendering remains as crew chief for the No. 19 team and Brandon Jones for a third consecutive year.

JGR will field a fourth entry with Chris Gayle as No. 54 crew chief and a rotating group of drivers. Gayle led Jones and the No. 20 Cup team for the past three seasons.

A driver lineup and race schedule for the No. 54 will be announced at a later date.

“We go through a process at the conclusion of every season that includes evaluating each of our teams,” team owner Joe Gibbs said in a statement. “We believe our crew chief lineup for 2021 will best position each team and driver for success across both series.

“We take a lot of pride in our depth of talent across our entire organization. All of our crew chiefs are proven winners.  We are also looking forward to bringing the No. 54 Toyota Supra back to the track in 2021 with an exciting team of drivers.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here